Dead or Alive?

When you have a job, like mine, that requires you to sit at a computer for 8 hours a day, you tend to find odd moments when you aren’t doing work but rather goofing off with the help of the internet.  Well, my lovely australian employer blocks access to my gmail account, facebook, and espn.com, so I have to get creative with my time killing technique.  The one website it doesn’t block off is Wikipedia.  With this vast resource of utterly reliable, unbiased and exquisitely researched information at my fingertips, the options are endless.  

So here’s the game that my morbid imagination came up with:  I think of someone who achieved fame decades ago, but who I haven’t heard anything from in a long time.  Then, I try to guess whether that person is alive or dead.  The game gets intense, as I load Shel Silverstein’s wikipedia page, thinking he’s probably still alive, hoping he’s still alive, praying he’s still alive, only to find out that he died back in 1999.  What a sad twist!  It almost feels like I caused it.  So anyway, if you want to play but are having trouble thinking of people who fit the bill, I’ve put together what I think is a good starter list.  Maybe you already know about some of these, but if not feel free to guess!  I don’t want to spoil the surprise right here, so I’ve put the answers down at the end of the post.  Also, I’ve separated out the sports figures from everyone else: 

Dead or Alive?

 Non-Sports Figures:  1) Neil Armstrong,  2) JD Salinger, 3) Judy Garland, 4) Steve McQueen, 5) Richard Pryor, 6) Chubby Checker.

Sports Figures: a) Sandy Koufax, b) Johnny Unitas, c) Julius Erving, d) Joe Frazier, e) Gale Sayers, f) Stan Musial

Take Neil Armstrong, for instance.  I bet you hadn’t even thought of this most famous of astronauts in a long time.  But now that I bring it up, aren’t you curious about what he’s up to?  That moon landing was 39 years ago, and he must have been at least 35 or 40 years old when it happened, so if you do the math, it’s basically a tossup whether he’s lasted this long.  I think this game has some real potential.  If you still think this game is pretty F’d up, well, I can’t really blame you.  On the other hand, if you love the game and have some good examples to share, feel free to post them in the comments.

In other news, I got this video forwarded to me from my friend Rob yesterday.  I don’t want to oversell it, but I personally felt it was the funniest video I had seen in a very long time. So why not spread the love?  Check it out:

 

 

There is so much to love about this video, from the fact that everyone involved was clearly hammered to the fact that the kid manages to end up farther away from the basket than he started. I really can’t say enough about it.

That’s it for now, I am developing some amazing international travel related epiphanies, but they are still very much in nascent stages.  So stay tuned.

 

DEAD OR ALIVE ANSWERS:

Non Sports: 1: Alive (1930-) 2: Alive (1919-) 3: Dead (1922-1969) 4: Dead (1930-1980) 5: Dead (1940-2005) 6: Alive (1941-)

Sports: a: Alive (1935-) b: Dead (1933-2002) c: Alive (1950-) d: Alive (1944-) e: Alive (1943-) f: Alive (1920-)

Leave a Reply

